top of page

Behind The Camera: The Unauthorized Story Of Mork & Mindy (2005)

Updated: Jun 24, 2023

My quick rating - 6,8/10. I was a tremendous young fan of Mork & Mindy growing up, so I am interested in this story. Chris Diamantopoulos does a very nice job playing an extremely complex character in Robin Williams. When it started I was quite leary of knowing this wasn't going to be just stock footage and loads of interviews in a documentary but instead a biopic telling a comedic tale of drama about the shows inception and how it was made. Being somewhat picky, I didn't think Erinn Hayes quite nailed Pam Dawber as spot on but still did an adequate job in her role. Without those two pulling off believable performances, this flick completely fails so I am overall impressed with what they did. The pacing of this also was well done in not focusing on one particular aspect of his rise more than another. They balanced out what was happening with the show with his personal life making for an enjoyable trip. I liked the inclusion of John Belushi played by Tyler Labine since I think it does help people understand a bit of what was going on with Williams on a personal level. I know I was a bit too young to understand it back then but this docudrama handled what I learned later on about their relationship in a respectful yet enlightening manner. This flick definitely impressed me far more than expected and I would recommend it to any fans of the show or Robin Williams in general.

Currently streaming on Peacock and Tubi.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page