top of page

Camp Pleasant Lake (2024)

My quick rating - 3.6/10. Look, it is the criminally underrated Michael Paré from an excellent and fairly unknown 80s flick called Streets of Fire among a couple of hundred other films. And Robert LaSardo as well, so far a cast I am a fan of. A couple breathes life into a new camp on an old campsite, connecting them to a chilling past that unravels a 20-year-old mystery involving a missing young girl. As eerie events unfold, they must confront forces tied to a brutal crime. Very predictable if you have seen any slasher movie ever. The gore effects are just practical fun, nothing that is going to nauseate anyone. The acting of those playing the family was decent enough but the cast of camp characters was abysmal. None of them established any connection with me to make me care which one, if any of them, lived through this camping ordeal. And after pointing out negative after negative about this flick, I still found myself watching it slightly entertained until the end. Granted I don't ever turn movies off without finishing them, but I mean I actually wanted to see this one through and not sit at my keyboard and bitch about how bad it was. Yes, it is a poor slasher but I don't think it would've taken much to turn this one around. The initial story that leads to the campfire tales about Echo (the missing little girl) is told to us in flashback-type scenes and at first, they do work out fine. Later they are used to connect some of the plot holes that got left either on purpose or by accident, it was hard to tell. The pieces from there do get woven together exactly how I assumed they would. I won't spoil anything but you may not catch on right away and might get a better surprise out of the whole story. I shouldn't assume everyone has seen more horror flix than they can count as I have. Give it a shot if it pops up for cheap or free and you may be ok with it if you are in that target audience but don't go looking for it. I mean it has Andrew Divoff playing the character Evil Man so you can see writer/director Thomas Walton has a sense of humor about it.

There are a few streamers to check this one at with Amazon being the cheapest.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page