top of page

Dark Windows (2023)

My quick rating - 4.1/10. Oh, look, another group of friends that do not seem at all like they are actually friends. I am not sure why writers script out groups to all constantly hate on each other and try to dig under their skin. Wow, that ending sucked. I am perfectly fine with a slow-burn movie when the payoff is at least worth something but to take this type of pacing and end like that? Criminal! A group of teenagers, whom I mentioned while watching seem to dislike each other, take a trip to an isolated summerhouse in the countryside. They are attempting to either put an accident in the past for good or they are attempting to mourn their friend's loss. It depends on how you take it. What they thought would be a peaceful getaway turns into a horrific nightmare when a masked man begins to terrorize them in the most unspectacular ways. One of the strong points of this flick was the acting though. I have no idea who Vanessa Borgli is but she did a damn good job in this one. To be fair, the acting from both of the women was spot-on for the character they played. No offense to Rory Grant as Peter but he was more or less along for the ride. But the acting cannot save the very predictable plot and astonishingly slow pace. If you are looking for any form of "terrorizing" as the synopsis stated, you'll have to sit through the first 70 minutes since it is only during the finale. I feel as though my scoring on this one is solely placed on the acting since I had such a bad taste in my mouth when the credits started that I couldn't scan to the end fast enough. It isn't going to satisfy you with enough tension for the 80-minute run time and surely will not entertain anyone expecting a gore-ridden horror flick.

These streamers have this one for a very reasonable price.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page