top of page

Dead Bang (1989)

Updated: Dec 22, 2021

My quick rating - 6,0/10. Plex started this "Tis the Season" area which picks through your movies and puts them in that "hub" if it thinks it is seasonal. Well, this one from my new releases hit the hub so I am going to check it out again. Pretty sure I saw this years ago. And I had but it wasn't fresh in my memory. On Christmas eve, Don Johnson gets a call for a homicide of another officer shot on patrol. In this one, he plays the part of an alcoholic, womanizing officer to a tee. Due to a description obtained from a survivor of a connected robbery, he is on the case that takes up a much more serious nature that is still highly relevant now. An underground white supremacist group. Surprisingly hard-hitting for a flick from 1989 really, especially considering what the Miami Vice fans are used to. Along with the action though, director John Frankenheimer mixes in a healthy amount of humor to keep things rolling. The film is actually paced quite well and the casting also does the flick some favors including Penelope Ann Miller and William Forsythe which acting-wise helped carry this one through what may have just been a run-of-the-mill police film. I wouldn't go so far as to say it is a Xmas classic perse but I am glad I was reminded of this one since it still is a solid action/comedy that many may have missed. If nothing else, the on-foot chase scene and argument with his psych, or "shrink" as he calls him, is worth it on its own. Johnson really put in the work to redefine the burnt-out cop role and his character seems like a trip to hang out with for Xmas.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page