top of page

Death Rider In The House Of Vampires (2021)

My quick rating - 3.8/10. (09.20.23)I have been itching to see this one ever since I read about it. As for why you cannot find it. Glenn Danzig doesn't own the film. Cleopatra Entertainment does. They funded it. It will not be released until they find a buyer. The budget was 2 million and they haven't made their money back yet. Simple. The movie is in the red by a large margin and putting it out on disc will not generate the cash to offset the budget or the production cost of the disc. Update as of 04.12.24. Apparently the distribution issue is worked out since it popped up in a viewable capacity. I am always partial to any movie that has both Sylvia & Jen Soska involved even if they appear to just be cast as playthings. In the Wild West, the mysterious Death Rider enters a dangerous Vampire Sanctuary where the price of admission is one female virgin. The whole thing feels like an excuse for Danzig and some of his buddies to make a flick. I like the idea of this being in the Western theme but I don't think sticking a scene with a modern-looking hallway with proper trim and all fits into the time frame. Having Eli Roth aboard does add some credibility to the horror aspect although judging by how silly the story is, I doubt he had much to do with it. Death Rider (Devon Sawa) infiltrates the sanctuary to get revenge for his law brethren who were killed by Bad Bathory (Danzig). He didn't really have much of a plan beyond getting in and finds himself confronting the Count who as always does a great job in his role, played by Julian Sands. The whole case is quite weird, I even caught a glimpse of Sean Waltman at the bar. Wrestling fans know him as X-Pac. The movie is pretty damn slow and doesn't have much action at all. The burn effects used to eliminate the vampires are above average but it is few and far between. In the amount of time, it took from when I read about the existence of this movie to finally being able to watch it, I really had hoped it would be a campy grindhouse flick. I had those expectations pretty much destroyed when I ended up with a B-budget snooze fest that I honestly couldn't tell if Danzig was trying to play this seriously or not. At least this time, he had a story as opposed to that Verotika mess of a flick. It sounds strange to say but the cast is what brings this one up since the story left much to be desired. I am sure some of you will say I am still being generous with my rating. This won't be your cup of tea if you aren't into anything here I mentioned.

I can tell you right now, there is STILL nowhere to see this one (04.12.24). Justwatch: Death Rider in the House of Vampires is not available for streaming.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page