top of page

Deus (2022)

My quick rating - 3,1/10. Why not a scifi to get the day rolling? I'll tell you why? Because this is a boring flick that may have had a good idea hidden behind a bunch of poor acting. The premise of finding some mysterious sphere behind Mars is interesting enough. So they send a crew out to check it out. This is not entirely future since they are in hibernation for 8 months to get there, so a more believable space travel type thing is almost a worthless part of the plot since they don't use this at all. Then, when awoken, the crew begins to receive a message transmitting a single word "Deus, " Latin for deity or G-d. At this point, there is so much ripping off of the movie Event Horizon that I started to get irritated. But I kept watching in hopes that they might either do a decent job emulating that flick or come up with something new. Instead, the makers which I wouldn't burden you with did neither and just did a whole lot of nothing. The scenery is bland and didn't ever feel at all like the interior of a ship. The mystery they attempted to throw at you isn't explained remotely close to enough to care about and when the movie finished, I just blinked and asked "That's it?" I then proceeded to fast forward the credits and pressed the delete button. The short time you are spending reading this will help you cut the 90 minutes of boredom out and do something else. I checked Justwatch for you and it doesn't have any streamers listed so I am not sure where you can check this one out and I am positive you don't want to find it.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page