top of page

Ditched (2021)

Updated: Feb 26, 2022

My quick rating - 5,2/10. I was on the fence between thriller and horror but I guess I'll stick with IMDB since it really only tells me which drive to find this on my media server. I had this movie pegged much lower throughout most of it but then it actually redeemed itself a bit with some creative thinking. It opens up with a nice story intro of an ambulance and a police car off the road with no reception nor any recollection of what had happened. The ambulance happened to be transporting medical prisoners which sets up the rest of what is coming. Each survivor is desperate to first escape the overturned ambulance and then figure out how it happened. But getting out turns to be even more dangerous as something in the woods is hunting them. The characters are acted pretty well for an unknown cast and have some defined personalities which all come into play later on in the flick. The middle portion of this movie does drag on and I was getting very dissatisfied until the true nature of what was in the woods is shown and then explained away. Giving that part away would ruin it so I'll just tell you it made it better in my opinion. Some will also notice it is completely contrived and borderline impossible, but who cares. It wasn't what I expected and then to further my surprise, it was also well written to work out. For a first-time writer/director, Christopher Donaldson shows he can craft a tale quite well and even better he manages to keep tension throughout even though the entire movie takes place in the back of the ambulance and a slight bit of the forest outside of it. I also will mention sticking around for the bizarre credits after a bold ass ending.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page