top of page

Don't Say Its Name (2021)

Updated: Jul 8, 2022

My quick rating - 4,2/10. Throw a shuffle in and it's one I know nothing about. And it won't be anything I'll watch again. The acting was passable although the lead woman (Sera-Lys McArthur) was trying entirely too hard to be that tough-as-nails female role. She would've been just fine without the overacting of it. But the story itself is intriguing to me since I know nothing of Intuit folklore, literally. So seeing something about an invisible being that is conjured up and kills at will due to an indigenous myth was entertaining for me. And the effects in this were competent enough not to be distracting. However, the execution of all of these elements left a bit to be desired for sure. The pacing was adequate though in keeping your attention and in the end I was left surprised it turned out as good as it did however disappointed that it didn't explore the very new topic for me to the full extent. I suppose I am a bit spoiled by Antlers and was expecting that level of quality. Still, I would say it is worth the initial watch if you don't mind the flaws just don't expect to revisit it anytime in the future so a one-time rental would suffice. CLick below if you are inclined to see it.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page