top of page

Enys Men (2023)

Updated: May 1, 2023

My quick rating - 4,1/10. This one does a great deal to look like a 70s/80s flick. Shot with a grainy look and pan and scan aspect ratio gives that vibe completely. Everything so far just screams out quality filmmaking, the camera work, the sounds, and the scenery, but it is missing one key component: the story. The first words out of my mouth when the end credits just started were, "Pretentious nonsense." Nice experimental film, but quite pointless as a movie. I really wanted to like this one and did my best to extract some form of a story from it but you cannot create something that just isn't there. The imagery is nice to look at and often creepy as Mary Woodvine explores the island where she appears to be volunteering. She is alone, or maybe she is, depending on how you view this. There is a hint of a ghost presence here along with her but almost everything here is up to your imagination. I have to assume the point was not explaining it so everything would be up to interpretation. Supernatural? Time loop? Mental illness? Could be one or all of them coming into play. I am handing out a very generous score only because it really has some serious atmosphere locking you in the entire time. I was bored yet captivated at the same time which is not easy to do, even if I would never revisit this movie again. For anyone who would like a lesson in film work but it certainly isn't the whole package in the slightest.

Amazon, AppleTV, and Microsoft are your $7 choices.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page