top of page

Escape Room (2019)

Updated: May 20, 2023

My quick rating - 6,5/10. What a nice breath of fresh air this one turned out to be. These escape room flix are coming at us hot and heavy lately, and for the most part are all about the same, give or take. Not saying this one is totally different, but at least they gave some thought to the why of things going on. I believe it borrowed from another flick I saw recently (name is driving me crazy, I'll come back when/if I think of it and correct) but standing on its own, the visuals are very nicely done. The characters are unique enough and are given just the right amount of time to develop and give them a personality to follow. The devices that were created to keep the players guessing were cleverly created with varying degree of solutions. This gave it a plausible feeling without making it impossible to picture the contestants solving each puzzle. Definitely above average and even comes up with a nice lead into a sequel, Escape Room: Tournament of Champions. I'll be checking it out and my guess is you will be as well, as long as you like this one. Edit: I think the recent movie I was thinking of was either Play or Die or Follow Me. I saw both right around the same time and doubt they borred from each other at all.

Check this one out on Amazon among the many streamers running it.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page