top of page

Finch (2021)

Updated: Nov 30, 2021

My quick rating - 6,5/10. I did some survey for a movie called "Tom's Robot" and pretty much forgot about it. Obviously, they came up with a better name than the working title I saw. I am glad they did finish this one up though since it is a nice-looking scifi flick that is certainly family-friendly. What exactly the movie is about is somewhat suspect to me. The story is about Tom Hanks character as a survivor in a post-apocalyptic world who builds himself a robot to assist in taking care of his dog. But is there also the underlying theme of needing companionship as well? I have a feeling that there were quite a few intentions of what this was all to mean and I would've taken stabs at isolation during COVID being one of them had I not seen a pretty complete-looking product over a year ago. The entire movie is basically a one-man show and the screen is absolutely commanded by Hanks. But just as important is the robot named Jeff lol. Jeff is a truly seamless creation of puppeteering and CGI that looks near flawless. There are quite a few really tender moments in this one between all three of them, man-robot, robot-dog man-dog that really makes it heartwarming and carries you through. The few scenes of any action in this look good but it was more to show that things are still happening in the world around them. I am sure plenty of people will find this boring, and I can't fault that since there isn't much going on. A tornado hits, at one point some people follow them but this really is all secondary to the relationship that is formed between Jeff and Finch. And to some extent, later on, the dog (Goodyear). You'll need to pass on this if you are looking for action/scifi type thing, but I wouldn't pass on a solid piece of cinema that this movie does give. I just wish the focus was a bit more concise and didn't seem to just meander throughout the story until the very obvious ending that was coming.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page