top of page

Grabbers (2012)

My quick rating - 6.9/10. I am re-evaluating this one since I don't recall watching it nor does this sound plausible. I'll include the original review at the bottom. Nice scenery with the camera scanning the Irish countryside. Ok, that was extremely fun as I mentioned previously but I am not going with my score. Judging by the date I watched this, I am going to assume I was also drunk just like the townsfolk in this movie. That would easily explain my exaggerated take on the score. Something sinister has come to the shores of Erin Island, unbeknownst to the quaint population of this sleepy fishing village resting somewhere off Ireland’s coast. First, some fishermen go missing. Then there is the rash of whale carcasses suddenly washing up on the beach. When the murders start, it’s up to two mismatched cops – an irresponsible alcoholic (Richard Coyle) and his new partner, a by-the-book woman from the mainland (Ruth Bradley) – to protect the townsfolk from the giant, bloodsucking, tentacled aliens that prey upon them. Their only weapon, they discover, is booze. If they want to survive the creatures’ onslaught, everyone will have to get very, very drunk! This flick ticks the boxes of quite a few genres as it has science fiction elements to it along with adventure. And I have to plop it under horror since the creatures like to decapitate their victims while there is also a considerable amount of comedy. Definitely an unknown gem I ran across back in 2019 before I made it over to Australia.

Previous review: 7.8/10. This movie was so much fun to watch. Have to get drunk to survive? Totally new one. Every actor in this played their parts to a tee. And sprinkle in a little romance as well. I have no idea how I had never heard of this one until now but what a great find. The effects as well were good. Such a well-crafted flick for sure. Don't miss it if you haven't seen it.

You have a few streaming options along with several freebies.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page