top of page

Grand Tour: Disaster In Time (1991)

Updated: May 21, 2023

My quick rating - 6,5/10. This one popped on Radarr and I cannot for the life of me place it which I should be able to since this was at the time I was working at West Coast Video. I do like how it mentions "from the director of Pitch Black" David Twohy considering that movie came out nearly a decade after this LOL. I am surprised i have never heard of this movie. Quite good for the time. It didn't need flashy effects to tell a solid time travel story. Nice to see Jeff Daniels in a more serious role since we have become accustomed to his pigeon-hole roles in stupid comedy which he is quite good at. The setup here is captivating in cleverly showing some unique travelers that are dead set on staying at a certain hotel even while it is under renovation. The flick intelligently keeps the whole science fiction aspect in a completely believable realm making it seem much more plausible. Made me think that if there were time travelers just roaming around, it would most likely be a lot more like this than most of the other flix that approach this subject. I am unsure why this was a straight-to-cable venture (which is why I hadn't heard of it) since it really demonstrates what a quality director can do with a fully realized and smart script to work with. Too bad I let this one pass me by back then but don't make the same mistake and check this one out.

Also known as Timescape and is available on several streamers including Amazon.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page