top of page

Gravedancers (2006)

Updated: Apr 6, 2023

My quick rating - 5,7/10. One from the After Dark film festival which was THE premiere horror movie showcase for a few years back then. According to my database, I watched this but it was a shitty quality version back then so an upgrade came along and to be honest, I don't really much remember it anyways. It did come back to me especially the refresher of a horror flick with Dominic Purcell. This small group of friends gets all drunk after a funeral and decides to head to the graveyard. In this already bad idea, they further their stupidity and dance on the graves of some random people. Wasn't their idea entirely, someone had left a card there with this prompt. In true horror fashion, this was a really bad idea and the 3 have found themselves in a fight for their lives. For a B-budget flick, this one definitely brings the scares in a good-looking fashion. I have to admit I don't believe I have seen the desecration of someone's grave bringing back their spirit to directly attack you. At least, not like this. The whole movie is a bit of a throwback to a more 80s style which I am always a fan of. The pacing is a bit off-kilter since it did get stuck in a rut in the middle but when it kicked back into gear, the last half hour flew by. The acting was fine and left nothing to complain about. I am sure the egotistical guy (Marcus Thomas) will conjure up a person you actually know. The ending did get a bit over the top but after where they took you, it was a welcome use of over-effects as long as you don't mind non-Hollywood budget CGI. Definitely worth viewing for any fan of the genre.

Justwatch isn't turning anything up for this one so for some, you know where to look.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page