top of page

Green Ice (1981)

My quick rating - 4.6/10. Checking this one out since I am more curious about why I have never heard of it when it was right in the middle of my Showtime cable box viewing days as a kid and I watched or read about EVERYTHING in the monthly guide. Maybe this poster explains it since I read this was an action/adventure flick LOL. This music choice is going to put me to sleep and to keep playing it through an air heist scene is just wrong. The movie as a whole is quite a snoozefest. Even if you take into account that this movie is 43 years old, it still couldn't have been much better back then. The romance between our two leads Ryan O'Neal and Anne Archer didn't work all that well. It felt very forced although it was still more believable than the romance they attempted to work into the story between Archer and Omar Sharif. I suppose a little plot explanation would help. O'Neal is a down-and-out engineer who gets involved with Holbrook (Archer ) who is trying to not only rob an emerald mogul (Sharif) but also stop his corrupt leadership ways over the land he basically runs. Those two along with a local group of rebellious mercenaries scheme up a daring plot to rob Sharif of millions of dollars worth of emeralds to bankrupt his empire. And does it include some interesting tech to accomplish the daring feat. You will have to remind yourself it was early 80s computer wizardry we are dealing with. I can honestly say I am glad I missed this one back then although I am curious how I may have remembered it had I watched it back then. But this isn't one of those times I get to make that comparison. I have a few of those in my watchlist to give another go and see how it holds up. I don't think this one holds up well at all.

Amazon is the place if you want to pay for it otherwise these freebies have it.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page