top of page

Immaculate (2024)

My quick rating - 6.2/10. Cecilia (Sydney Sweeney), an American nun of devout faith, embarks on a new journey in a remote convent in the picturesque Italian countryside. Cecilia’s warm welcome quickly devolves into a nightmare as it becomes clear her new home harbors a sinister secret and unspeakable horrors. Bonus points for having the balls to end it that way (I was in the mid-5 range up until then). I found it a bit difficult seeing Sweeney as a Nun at first but as it went on, I had completely forgotten about the apprehension and let her on-screen performance take over. She really played this character far better than I would've expected. It is good she did since this whole flick is an interesting mix of good and bad qualities. Some scenes just work well with the right amount of blood and gore while other scenes actually had me just rolling my eyes wondering why it wasn't sitting on the editing room floor. As you can see by my final verdict, I thought the pros certainly outweighed the cons. The film manages to keep the usual jump scares down to a minimum while letting the story do the talking. If you hadn't figured it out by the title, Cecilia ends up being the chosen one of the convent for "immaculate conception" and must deal with the burden of such a responsibility. Granted, this is a horror flick so there is much more to it and is told in a well-paced manner. Director Michael Mohan had a keen eye on the cameras as the shots kept your attention on the screen quite well. I am guessing after his work on The Voyeurs he was sold on Sweeney and brought her back which I admit was the proper decision. Overall, I found this a surprisingly enjoyable horror flick that doesn't take anything to excess but still tells a thorough and creepy tale.

A few streamers have this one for theater pricing including Amazon.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page