top of page

Kalki 2898-AD (2024)

My quick rating - 7.0/10. Diving into my first Hindi sci-fi flick with Kalki 2898-AD was quite the experience. The movie follows Bhairava, a bounty hunter disillusioned with his harsh reality and eager to trade it for a cushier life in the Complex. However, his quest lands him amidst a group of rebels fighting to free humanity from the clutches of malevolent forces. The creativity in this film is its strongest point, delivering an impressive blend of futuristic and mythological elements that kept me engaged throughout. The world-building and character development are top-notch, painting a vivid picture of this dystopian universe. Prabhas, who plays Bhairava, carries the film with ease. His charisma shines through, especially in the hand-to-hand combat scenes where he slips in some well-timed comedic expressions. While I'm not familiar with many Bollywood actors, it's clear why Prabhas is one of the highest-paid in the industry—he has a magnetic screen presence. However, the film isn't without its quirks. As much as I appreciated the detailed narrative, the sudden musical dance number felt out of place. It was a jarring reminder of Bollywood's traditional insistence on incorporating song and dance into every genre, which, while charming in other contexts, felt a bit shoehorned here. I had hoped Bollywood had moved past this particular trope, especially in a serious sci-fi setting. That being said, it’s a minor blemish on an otherwise solid film. The action sequences are delightfully over-the-top, blending comic book-style choreography with a mix of mythical and technological weaponry. Disha Patani as Roxie left me wanting more—her brief but impactful role had potential that wasn’t fully explored, which was a shame. Oh, who am I kidding, she is a hot woman throwing around roundhouse kicks, what movie couldn't do without more of that? At nearly three hours long, the film certainly takes its time, and just when I thought I was nearing the end, it became apparent that this is just the beginning of a larger story. I wasn’t expecting a multipart narrative, but it successfully hooked me for future installments. Despite the language barrier and the obligatory dance numbers, this flick stands out as a great sci-fi fantasy adventure. I’m definitely intrigued by the potential of the Kalki cinematic universe and will be keeping an eye out for what comes next.

Amazon or Netflix are your choices right now. (09.03.2024)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page