top of page

Late Night With The Devil (2023)

My quick rating - 7.0/10. Let's see what all the hype is about. I can tell you what the fuss was about, a refreshing breath of air in the horror genre. I thoroughly enjoyed this pseudo-found footage flick. It isn't the "I lost my handi-cam" type but leans more on being footage from a television show that was scrapped due to the nature of what happens. A live broadcast of a late-night talk show hosted by Jack Delroy (David Dastmalchian) in 1977 goes horribly wrong, unleashing evil into the nation's living rooms. The pacing of this flick is superb as it kept me not on the edge of my seat but completely enthralled by what was going to happen next. The cast was selected very well including Ian Bliss who plays Carmichael, the ever-present skeptic who not only debunks all this supernatural nonsense but also practices a bit of magic as well. But the show is stolen as soon as Lily (Ingrid Torelli) is introduced on stage. Her eyes and the way she looked around with a strange amazement at everything just captivated me. In a frightening way so she nailed her part. The talk show just presents itself as many you have seen before, and in this footage, you also see what is going on during commercial breaks as the whole narrative unfolds. Suffice it to say, I loved how it was presented. The scares are more subtle up until the finale when all hell breaks loose. I would have most likely rated this higher had it not been for a disappointing ending, in my eyes. Many will be just fine with it but I expected a bit more creativity to it after all the storytelling goodness I had just witnessed. If you are a fan of the genre and can also relate to talk shows such as Letterman or Johnny Carson back in the day I am sure you will also be entertained.

You can check this one out on Amazon and a few streamers they offer as well.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page