top of page

Luther: The Fallen Sun (2023)

Updated: Mar 17, 2023

My quick rating - 6,3/10. I admittedly never did watch the TV series featuring Idris Elba on BBC, which is unfortunate. This thriller jumps right in with both feet at an alarmingly fast pace. The story is thrown at you very quickly so paying attention at the start is a must. The plot itself isn't confusing nor remotely plausible but will help understand what is happening. Elba already plays an established character and I assume I am missing a bunch but I gather he is a tough, get-the-job done at all costs kind of detective. In his pursuit of a serial killer, he is almost immediately reported upon and jailed for his various wrongdoings. They do not really go into much detail about what those transgressions were so you just have to roll with it. As you can assume, he is not satisfied with letting this one go and you will see why as the movie progresses. As far as serial killers go, this dude is on a whole new level of victims but as I mentioned, this level is preposterous. He is joined by the exact opposite in character Andy Serkis who plays our evil villain. No spoiler, this is not a mystery at all. Well, the mystery ends up being how in the world the body count could continue to rise to the extent it does. The whole movie increasingly just gets less and less plausible with each scene. I think that is part of the fun of it, at least for me. Every bit of electronic manipulation or digital traces redirected just have to just be taken with a grain of salt to enjoy the whole thing. There are some fine action scenes at times although I felt like the CGI was sometimes too obvious. Still, I realize I am nitpicking when I should just say it is a dark story in what Serkis is up to and the lengths he will go to get revenge. If those gripes I mentioned bother you, expect that score to be much lower when you let your friends know. I tried to look past them for the entertainment aspect.

This one is currently streaming on Netflix but you can catch all 5 seasons on Hulu

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page