top of page

Malum (2023)

Updated: Jul 3, 2023

My quick rating - 5,0/10. All I could think of as I was watching this movie is that I have already seen it but only by the story since the actors didn't at all look familiar. It was driving me crazy but I realized this is a remake of Last Shift and all I can conclude is the director, Anthony DiBlasi, did so just to get some cast diversity since Jessica Loren (Jessica Sula) is a black woman this time. Pretty dumb reason to redo a flick. Hopefully, you read the previous review for a sum up so I'll stick to what this movie has to offer. The answer is quite simple, far less than what the first one did. Even before I realized this was a remake by the same guy, I still felt this one was very mediocre in the presentation of the problem at hand. It doesn't do a good job of explaining the haunting or why it is there. The creepiness from the first seems to be lost and it isn't due to trying for more jump scares and sprinkling budget around on effects. This flick is just a genuine step-down. The acting is just fine so there was no lateral movement with that and since there is really only one player and a bunch of extras, it is hard to concern yourself with their acting performances. I don't quite understand how DiBlasi could have left out some of the things that made Last Shift a success in my eyes. I never got those Carpenter vibes during this one nor did I feel any of the scenes had the disturbing imagery making you wonder if things were happening or not. And then it didn't end things off in a way that challenged you at all like his original effort did. It was like DiBlasi just abandoned all the things that worked so well for some reason. This definitely goes down as one of those flix that I truly do not understand why it was made aside from the strange theory I presented or a lame attempt at a cash grab. Either way, neither seems to be worthy of wasting the studio's time nor ours. If you have the ability to pick, go with his previous effort.

Still a bit costly at Amazon and a couple of other streamers if you are interested.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page