top of page

Old (2021)

Updated: Oct 24, 2021

My quick rating - 5,9/10. I think it is good that M. Night Shyamalan has accepted the fact he is not going to catch lightning in a bottle again in his movies. It would just be nice if the audience would realize the same thing. To me, this felt like watching a full-budget old-school Twilight Zone episode. A group of people is invited to an exclusive private beach that is secluded away from the rest of a resort that they all are staying at. Soon after arriving, however, they start to realize they are aging at a rapid pace. This is more apparent in the kids at first, of course, and with that loss of youth, the story is intelligently written to take into account how it would affect them differently than the adults. Also handling the situation takes its toll on the group in different ways especially since it seems they all are afflicted with a different health issue. The characters here are quite unique and played well. If the whiny girl is bothering you, don't worry, in less than 10 minutes she'll be an adult. Since going into this one you already know what the catch is, figuring out the reveal is part of M. Nights game. I have to say that I was again impressed with how this one turns out. The wrap-up is quite satisfying although I wish it went a few more minutes into it. The tension throughout the whole experience is what makes this a worthwhile watch. Much more a thriller than horror but an entertaining flick that is enjoyable but not great. I think the confusion for many, myself included, is was this trying to be a comedy along the way? As I said, it is like an episode for TV that just got a great-looking locale to shoot that just dragged into a full-length movie.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page