top of page

Oldboy (2003)

Updated: Nov 3, 2023

My quick rating - 8,2/10. I absolutely have seen this before, but a 4K English dubbed version came up for my collection, so I am refreshing my memory with this absolute gem of a film. After a night of drinking, Dae-su (Min-sik Choi) is abducted from a street corner. Held captive in a small apartment for fifteen years, with no human contact other than a television, Dae-su is surprised one evening to find he has been released for no apparent reason. Left in precisely the spot from which he was abducted fifteen years earlier, with nothing but the clothes on his back and some cash in his pocket, he must find clues to who held him captive all those years and, perhaps more importantly, why. With the help of friendly sushi chef Mi-do (Hye-jeong Kang) and his years of training in captivity for the inevitable confrontation, Dae-su must have answers and revenge. The flick is intensely violent but in a completely necessary way. Director Park Chan-wook clearly is a student of cinema since everything looks so damn good. I am keeping this one short since you can find novels written about this movie. It is one of those flix that is just so good that every couple of years I pop it back on just to remind myself how great a top 100 overall rated movie on IMDB looks (#73.) If you haven't seen this one, make sure you add it to that watchlist as long as you aren't squeamish.

Justwatch doesn't have anything for this one.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page