top of page

Omega Doom (1996)

Updated: Jul 8, 2023

My quick rating - 3,9/10. I have always been a fan of Rutger Hauer but I don't believe I have ever seen this one. I see that Albert Pyun directed this one whom I have been a fan of ever since the criminally undrerated Nemesis. Granted he loves to churn out STV mediocre stuff often but he still has a style that I cannot put my finger on. Unique in some way and always focused on the whole cyborg/robot thing. This time his apocalyptic world consists of only the androids roaming around in there own little gangs. When Hauers Omega Doom shows up to the local villa, he immediately helps those less fortunate which incites the villainous Blackeart (Tina Cote) whom you will notice has to be the inspiration for Trinity in the Matrix. The movie does a lot more to focus on the dialogue between the robots about freedom and pain. So any fans of the scifi action type flick will end up disappointed in that aspect. The effects are absolutely laughable as well during the course of the movie especially with Dooms buddy, Head played by Norbert Weisser. And no, that isn't an Al Snow joke, or maybe it is since half the time his head is disconnected from his robotic body and stuck laying on the ground. The whole flick looks so dismal which really helps the atmosphere without the need to be dark. This definitely is for fans of b-budget flix since all the staples are present. The acting is all hammed up so much that you can tell they knew the whole thing was just a paycheck so why not have some fun with the overacting. Not sure why it has such poorly timed dubbing which must've been an afterthought for the video release. It seems to be an English spoken flick so either a problem with the release or the version I have. Either way, it isn't worth attempting to fix since it just doesn't have any excitement to it that would bring me back to check it out again. Just way too slow for my tastes even with the aforementioned people involved.

You can stream this one on Amazon. Justwatch doesn't have any other working options.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page