top of page

Pulse (2006)

Updated: Oct 25, 2022

My quick rating - 5,3/10. Radarr turned up two sequels to this and I am not even sure I have watched it but it was hiding in the New Release folder. Figured I should watch and see if grabbing those others are worth it. I am unsure how much this borrows from Kairo which is a Japanese horror flick that translates to "Pulse" but I am assuming quite a bit. The screenplay is by Wes Craven so cannot be all bad. I found the "ghosts" to be pretty creepy looking and make for some good jump scares which was surely the intention of this one. I just found that the whole presentation didn't quite capture what it should have. The timeframe seemed off, and the fact that the world wide web wasn't something new kind of threw this one off. Maybe it would've worked better had it been set 10 years earlier. Just a thought I had while watching. Also, the way the "virus" spread was a bit strange in explanation. I did like the effects though as the undead appear and disappear in the entire dark world that is crafted here. The whole dismal atmosphere is creepy on its own so the fact that people are committing suicide left and right doesn't seem all that surprising. But when a couple of people, headed by Kristen Bell, begin to put the events together, they realize that those dying have found a way back through the airwaves and every screen with reception is a portal for them. This is the best part of the story since the plot that revolves around the clever premise drags it down. I still enjoyed the positives in this one even if it could've been better and I am sure the two sequels this flick talked me into including are going to be letdowns. You'll read about that prediction soon. You can check it out on MOST streamers for free or with ads, or click the poster below for Amazon.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page