top of page

Rise Of The Machine Girls (2019)

Updated: Aug 10, 2022

My quick rating - 5,3/10. When I saw this pop-up, I absolutely had to get to it right away, especially since I had seen Machine Girl not all that long ago. I will also assume that the 2008 twisted metal revenge flick may not have anything to do with this aside from the name but time to find out. I stand corrected since Ami is back (a different actress though, Himena Tsukimiya) and the Battle Bust Sisters are formidable opponents LOL. This type of nihilistic cinema is still being pushed out of Japan and it definitely takes a certain type of viewer to appease. I am one of that kind. The insane gore with comical CGI blood effects looks as cheesy as can be. The story, if you want to pretend it has one, is that of two sisters who ar themselves to the teeth and go after an organ-stealing evil doer that has been taking young girls and using them for "parts" These lead to some of his crazy creations that are straight out of some maniacal doodles on a teens notebook while zoning out in class. You have to be in the mindset of just sheer mayhem with very little reason to it since there is no real reason other than watching schoolgirls with guns fastened to them destroying women with giant boobs that are designed to be weapons. And that is just one battle, which in these movies, is organized just like video games, and the heroes get to the "boss" which they must defeat. Also, since I was wrong in my initial thought, it MAY be beneficial to see the first one to get an idea of why Ami is on her hellbent mission in the first place. But realistically, it really doesn't matter. Just sit back and enjoy. (The first one was much better in all aspects.)


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page