top of page

Scream (2022)

Updated: May 17, 2023

My quick rating - 6,4/10. One of the more hyped horror flix of the year. Streaming on Amazon Prime, click the poster below to check it out if interested. The vast majority of the cast is back for this one and the flick does a decent job of giving us a reason to have them there. The new cast is deadset in this being a re-quel, so fine, I'll call it just that. We have a whole new cast of victims to be had for a new Ghostface killer. Me saying that will most likely invoke your exact response to how likely you are to enjoy this. The movie completely relies on the fact you have loved all the scream movies up to now and want the whole idea to continue, regardless of how played out the plot is. Had the movie missed some things in it, such as the gore or the scenery, basically had it not been a really well-put-together movie, I most likely wouldn't have enjoyed it. But it looks really good so the suspension of belief is yet again easy to deal with. Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett did a fine job of keeping the eyes on the camera to make the scenes work and whoever was an integral part of the writing crew did put a nice spin into the town of Woodsboro and the events always tying everyone back into the past, even if it was a whole new mystery, again LOL. It has been long enough to be able to bring in kids of the original victims and killers from the 1996 at this point, classic. So being able to weave that aspect along with similar locations, or even the same house from the first into it was very well done. I will say I expected worse out of this. But now I'll also point out that I wanted better. I cannot bring myself to even push this up a decimal point to round up to 7 since this isn't a 7 horror flick to me. It was just too much of the same and couldn't come up with a nice "holy shit" for who the bad guy was which was something I really was hoping for. The new cast did hold their own and I thought Melissa Barrera as Sam and Mikey Madison as Amber stood out in their roles here. There are a ton of references throughout this flick to previous incarnations and as a tribute to Wes Craven I think they did his vision justice.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page