top of page

Strays (2023)

My quick rating - 6.8/10. I'll choose a comedy for a change of pace. I am glad I did since this was a really f&*king funny movie. I wanted to fit in with the dogs and their potty mouths LOL. Will Ferrell plays Reggie, who is abandoned on the mean city streets by his lowlife owner, Doug (Will Forte) and Reggie is certain that his beloved owner would never leave him on purpose. But once Reggie falls in with Bug (Jamie Foxx), a fast-talking, foul-mouthed stray who loves his freedom and believes that owners are for suckers, Reggie finally realizes he was in a toxic relationship and begins to see Doug for the heartless sleazeball that he is. The banter between the dogs in this is hilarious at times and it doesn't take long to just forget the effects making it happen and find yourself enjoying the story for what it is. I don't want to spoil what the end goal is once Reggie realizes that Doug was an asshole but it is damn funny. I rarely see a comedy that seems to hit on such a high volume of the jokes attempted but writer Dan Perrault does just that. Also, director Josh Greenbaum does an exceptional job at pulling all the "actors" together to make the scenes work. And when I say "actors" I mean the dogs. Sure, the voice acting in this is spot on and whoever cast this nailed each part but getting the animals to play along so well couldn't have been easy. (Kudos to the animal handlers) Don't be fooled into thinking this is a kid's movie since this is far more in the vein of Ted which appears aimed at children at first glance but ends up being an adult comedy. It is raunchy at times but also is quite an intelligent and heartwarming story. You may find yourself in an instant hate feeling towards Doug if you are a dog lover since I know I instantly was looking forward to the pack's revenge plot coming to fruition. Allow yourself to be surprised and check this one out.

Justwatch has several options for this amusing flick.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page