top of page

The Chill Factor (1993)

My quick rating - 3.8/10. Whenever an 80s or 90s horror movie pops up that I haven't heard of, I am typically right on top of checking it out. This one falls into that category and I have always been an avid snowmobiling fan. Why not mix that with a satanic cult? Oh, I miss racing our sleds across the Chain O'Lakes back in the day (mid-80s). They are racing theirs in Sugar Camp, Wisconsin, and definitely on location, no green screen effects going on here. A group of snowmobilers become trapped on a lake and hole up in an abandoned camp. What they don't know is that the camp was once used by a satanic cult for its rituals, and is still infested by demons, who begin to kill off the group. After watching this one, you understand what it is about but I swear they were just winging it when they made this and creating the plot as they filmed. The narrator steps in to fill in what is going on or just recently transpired, in between puffs it sounds like. For some reason, they chose a chain smoker to voice the transitions. This very low-budget flick really only has the location going for it. Snow is a great backdrop for horror and this film nails that aspect. Beyond that, you are looking at some terrible acting, really cheap and ineffective gore effects and a plot that as I said, seems to be on the fly. The premise sure had potential to match the scenery but it didn't even get close to achieving it. If I wasn't so sold on the outside, I would score this lower for all the crap that happens on the inside. Or should I say doesn't happen? I was also quite perplexed on the weird game they used to summon the demons since it was a far cry from your standard Ouija board. This is simply for horror buffs only and even then, you will do just fine if you miss this one. One thought I had is this must've been rated PG-13 at most since it is one of the few slashers you will see that goes out of its way to suggest nudity, mainly topless women and refuses to show any. You can either applaud the director Christopher Webster for this fact or despise him for not showing you any boobies LOL.

You have a few options to stream this one surprisingly.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page