top of page

The Complex: Lockdown (2020)

My quick rating - 4.0/10. After being tasked with saving the life of a potential bio-weapons terrorist, two London scientists find themselves in a locked-down laboratory with time and air running out. At the time this was made, it was VERY relevant with COVID running rampant. I would get more into this but I didn't watch it fully. Now before you freak out knowing I never start a movie and not finish it, I realized about 10 minutes into this movie I hadn't seen it before, I PLAYED it. This was an interactive movie that I already had gone through with my better half on my PC. So we had already made decisions during this movie to affect the outcome. That rating is what I would say after watching it as a stand-alone flick. It definitely loses a lot of the flair when choosing reactions is removed from the equation. You end up left with a fairly straightforward made-for-TV quality sci/fi flick. The acting is enough to just get by from the majority of the cast. Michelle Mylett does an adequate job despite what you may read elsewhere if you consider that she among others had to act out the same scene multiple times with entirely different reactions to each set of circumstances. The plot has to leave itself wiggle room for how certain things go so I assume they just choose what the filmmakers thought was the most cohesive and entertaining way to go through. There is no way I can recall what choices I made or where they even were from the 45 or so minutes I just watched but I did make sure and watch the final ending and I know that is NOT the ending I got on my computer. I actually liked this ending better. If I add back what I remember thinking a few years ago, I would tack on another point for the novelty of interacting with this film but even then I wasn't really wowed with it. Another thing was the very tame nature of the entire production. No kills, no real tension even though the situation calls for far more of that and nothing really went so far off script that you ended up surprised. The entire movie is set in that lab or offices upstairs so there isn't any variety of scenery. I would think after knowing it does have that ability to be played in a choose-your-own-adventure style, you would be very hesitant to bother with viewing it like this, even if it is on Freevee or the likes, let alone paying to rent it (feel free to click away though ;)

You can check this one out on Amazon and a handful of freebies.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page