top of page

The Devil's Carnival (2012)

My quick rating - 5.9/10. I recently read something about this since a sequel popped up and realized I had never seen this quirky horror musical. Sinners are invited to a theme park where they endure the repetition of their transgressions. What chances do a conniving kleptomaniac, a gullible teenager, and an obsessed father stand when facing their own moral failings? Lucifer (Terrance Zdunich) and his colorful cast of singing carnies invite you to grab a ticket to The Devil’s Carnival to find out! After I took a quick peek and saw that Darren Lynn Bousman was behind it, I knew after he brought us the excellent Repo! The Genetic Opera this flick had to be worth a watch. Sean Patrick Flanery plays a father (John) looking for his son but is soon tormented by his depravity. Lucifer then sits down with John's son and gives a version of Aesop's Fables in hell. To say that Bousman has a specific "type" of movie he is shooting for is an understatement. Influenced by The Rocky Horror Picture Show and attempting to make his own cult classic (which I believe Repo already has hit), he has again brought us an entertaining trip to a macabre musical world. The circus is filled with well-costumed oddities that luckily all can hold a note without issue. I had no idea that either Briana Evigan or Jessica Lowndes were so in tune with singing that they performed wonderfully. The tunes were catchy including a during-credits song that may have had the most meaning. My biggest gripe is that it felt very rushed and I actually wanted it to be longer than the mere 56 minutes we were given. The good news is it ended up with a clear nod to a sequel but the very bad news is the late Paul Sorvino is shown as G-d towards the end. RIP and I am sure you will be a highlight in the sequel when I check it out. And I also suggest you should check this one out if you are into anything that is straying off the genre's beaten path such as this. It was quite fun.

This one is NOT available on Amazon but you can check these streamers instead.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page