top of page

The Show (2020)

Updated: Sep 20, 2021

My quick rating - 6,7/10. This one has a potential "Cult" status written all over it. Anytime I see Alan Moore for a writing credit, I know I am in for one heck of a ride. His creativity alone always is enough to keep you entertained, but when he has a story to go along with it, well, you end up with classics (Watchmen) Here we have a supernatural crime noir flick that pushes the limits of reality back and forth. The dream sequences vs the nightmares are so well done, visually. Anytime I have attempted to write up a summary of Moores work, I end up fumbling along since it is always so complicated and confusing. This is no accident either, he makes sure you are left wondering when the curtain falls, so to speak. Each character is unique, and very well cast, even if they were all unknowns to me. Tom Burke, who is our head detective here, is searching for an artifact he was hired to retrieve. But the last known person wearing it was killed and he must track down what happened to it after that. This takes him deep into strange gangsters coves with voodoo priestesses for leaders along with visits to places that have long since been burnt to the ground, among all kinds of other strange occurrences. Moore even decides to drop in and uses his charm to fix himself into your nightmares with a deceptively evil performance. If this review leads you anywhere, just understand it is great to see creativity like this getting a shot since there are not a lot of flix this original floating around. If you dig the film noir along with a bit of supernatural lunacy, this one is right up your alley. Not only am I keeping it, I know I will get much more out of it during a rewatch or three.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page