top of page

Wedlock (1991)

Updated: Mar 15, 2022

My quick rating - 5,3/10. I know I watched this back at WCV but I don't remember it at all, just the cover. I didn't expect this movie was going to actually hold up quite so well. Rutger Hauer is a jewel thief who gets double-crossed and left for dead after a heist. But the betrayal fails since their attempt at killing him isn't completed and he also had ample time to stash the diamonds away. That is merely the start of this since after he recovers, he is sent to a maximum-security prison that uses a new technology known as the "wedlock" which is a collar that two people are matched together unbeknownst to each other that explodes if they get separated from one another. The rest of this thriller consists of that story and where it goes that I cannot go further into without spoilers. Suffice it to say, it is a fun futuristic romp that doesn't take itself too seriously while providing some decent action and tongue-in-cheek humor along the way. For a primetime made for tv flick, it doesn't often end up this good and especially 40 years later.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page