top of page

West Side Story (2021)

Updated: Mar 25, 2022

My quick rating - 7,1/10. There is no doubt in my mind that Steven Spielbergs eye for direction won't make this a great adaptation. Another #Oscars2022 best picture nominee that can be viewed by clicking the poster below. I was very much right about the directing. This looks so good in a way that is hard to explain. The scenes that you may know but are clearly meant to be just single sets still are captured feeling that way yet have a more reaching and vast look to them. I have no idea how they could make it seem to be both at the same time so well but it made the scenes look that much better. I know I am not the best person to really review musicals since I cannot really appreciate them whenever they are anything but comedic (I did play Audrey II on stage for Little Shop of Horrors, so that would make sense, me being a giant flesh-eating plant.) When they attempt to be serious I just cannot sink my head into it. Something about arguing over having a gun and dancing around during the conversation just distracts from the point. Sure this scene has some amazing choreography as does the entire movie but as far as the plot? This type of thing always has been a limitation my head can't wrap around. But if you can, then you will thoroughly enjoy this. Romeo and Juliet have been done many times before so you know the basic story not to mention the fact this is a remake of a thought-to-be untouchable version of the play. So I won't rehash that but even my opinions aside, I still watched completely entertained. I am sure people who believe "woke" is some new thing are all over this movie (not a new concept in the slightest people) so there is a bit of touching about society today mixed in. I personally think this story hit its peak at Tromeo & Juliet and at that point, poor Juliets story hit the highest point it can LOL. But as far as musicals go, I don't believe you are going to see too many that can be so technically sound, lavishly filmed and very much worth Spielbergs attention. It may not be my pick for best picture of the year but I can surely see why it is nominated.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page