top of page

X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)

Updated: May 31, 2023

My quick rating - 6,7/10. Shuffle choice since I am working and this works fine since I have seen it, just hasn't hit my blog yet. Always has been my favorite superhero so I was at the theater opening night to see this one. I had forgotten how many other superheroes they had gotten involved in this one. The story itself is well done and follows fairly decently to the comic version. Hugh Jackman seemingly was born to portray Wolverine and does it so effectively I cannot see anyone else stepping in. And Liev Schreiber is a step above the usual acting seen in superhero flix is well. Casting from top to bottom in this is all well done. You even get your first look at a younger Deadpool in Ryan Reynolds. Action is top-notch in all aspects utilizing that budget to its full extent. What they didn't utilize was what was already established. No more did we get constant wisecracks from our clawed hero. I suppose they left that for Deadpool or something. And they completely threw away the opportunity to use one of Marvels great characters with Gambit. Now 13 years later, they still haven't given him his movie although I think with the way Marvel is now, it will be coming as soon as they are allowed to FULLY use the X-Men. Click to read the reasons but it won't be happening until after 2025. But in this one, Gambit is a throwaway character who doesn't really get much time to develop. If this was in lead to something to come, it would make sense but obviously, that wasn't the case. But gripes aside, this is still an entertaining entry into the X-Men universe and does explain the character better for those who enjoyed the first few X-Men flix but also wanted to know where Wolverine came from. Click the poster below to rent it on Amazon.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page