top of page

Dark Matter: Season 1 (2024)

My quick rating - 7.5/10. At the core of this show, it is just an insane love story. A man, played extremely well by Joel Edgerton is abducted into an alternate version of his life. Amid the mind-bending landscape of lives he could've lived, he embarks on a harrowing journey to get back to his true family and save them from a most terrifying foe: himself. I was quite biased throughout the ordeal since the wife he is trying to get back to was played equally as well by my longest celebrity crush, Jennifer Connelly. Most people adored her in Labyrinth but I had already been enamored with her the moment I saw Creepers/Phenomena (the same movie, was Creepers when I saw it) LOL. While I am still on the acting, you must keep in mind that Edgerton not only plays the lead and the hero if you will but also has to assume the role of the villain. And he does so well at adding slight nuance to his character just enough to make himself evil without acting completely different. The entire cast makes this show work to be honest since each part is played to their best and contributes to the whole so well. Ok, enough of the acting, onto this excellent show. The initial trip into this multiverse is subtle and you can clearly see what is going on at the end of episode 1 but don't think for a moment that will prepare you for the magnitude of what occurs throughout the entire season. I think the cover gives you a slight idea of what I mean. Each episode manages to add to the tension that is building as to what each opening of the door will bring. The explanation of how the multiverse travel works is a bit geeky but the writing crew does an adequate dumbing down of it so it will be plausible enough to just enjoy the romantic story. As I said at the finale, at its core, this is a love story and everything revolves around a man's love of his family and the lengths Jason Dessen (Edgerton) will go to reunite with them. With top-notch acting and a solid story, I found this mini-series to be a bit of scifi fun that I wasn't expecting from this. Definitely must-see TV for any fans of the aforementioned genres along with the cast.

At the moment, you are stuck turning to AppleTV for this one LOL.

Dark Matter: Season 1 #jackmeatstv
Dark Matter: Season 1
6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scan/Click and use code 2024504LIFE to get Torguard VPN @50% off ALL packages for LIFE!  

50OFF4LIFE.png
Full Moon (1).png
follow me:
  • Discord
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram
  • linktree
TorGuard-icon-white-bg.png
PayPal ButtonPayPal Button

I may make commisions from any purchases/memberships initiated from my site. Please read full disclosure

© 2013 by Jackmeat. all rights reserved.

bottom of page