top of page

Dave Chappelle: The Dreamer (2023)

My quick rating - 6.8/10. Checking in with one of my favorite comedians once again. As always with Dave Chappelle if you aren't a fan of his previous work, you aren't going to like this. However, I will say he has toned it down quite a bit. If you read any controversy online then you are aware of why he has done that. I also believe this is his first recorded special where he talks about the "slap heard around the world." so you may also get a kick out of this response. This is especially pertinent since he is someone in the know, being friends with Chris Rock (speaking of, I have to watch CB4: The Movie again. Good thing I have it) Chappelle also jokingly gives his account of his own attack which occurred a few months after the Oscars incident and how it all comes full circle. Anyone who reads my reviews consistently knows I am always above a 7 and typically in the 8 range for his shows, so as you can tell, this is one of the less impactful ones I have seen. That doesn't mean it isn't damn funny, it is just not quite as beginning-to-end hilarious. I guess I am just spoiled by how great the rest of his specials are. That and he set the bar entirely too high with Chappelle's Show. And it does end on a nice and uplifting story. It has been over 20 years since I first caught Chappelle live on stage when I was in Texas and he is still one of the best comedians live I have ever seen. It may have been far easier to get tickets back then but if you can get them now, I highly recommend going. It is hard to explain the difference of just watching a show on a streamer and actually feeling the audience laughter when it hits but it is worth the experience. For the time being, well, just read the next line.

You can catch this on Netflix.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page