top of page

Outer Range: Season 1 (2022)

My quick rating - 6,4/10. Just finished this one up and came to update my post BUT realized I hadn't made one. The show stars the immensely talented Josh Brolin as a rancher who just so happens across a strange hole on his property. That would be the most dumbed-down version of this mysterious show I can give. And the poster also shows that so I thought I would slightly explain. A cross between X-Files and Yellowstone was about all I could think of in that strange things are occurring in the wilderness here and the mystery is far deeper than a simple hole in the ground. The casting for this is great as each character plays their part so well that you actually do care about them. The first couple of episodes really draws you into a story that involves a bit of supernatural and a bit of time travel among other possible things. And while I was very much enjoying everything unfolding then it took a turn in the later episodes I didn't like at all dropping this from high to low end 6. All of a sudden they started speaking in soap opera. Let me explain, a single conversation instead of taking a normal amount of time is drawn out over multiple episodes. An annoyance that soap operas are famous for. There was no reason to incorporate this into a show that has so many potential possibilities going on. All I can think of is planned multiple seasons so they stretched this shit out as much as they could. There is little reasoning beyond that I can come up with. But everything that makes this one to check out is there from great camerawork and what it is pointed at to a good mix of character interaction with the strange occurrences going on in the town. The family connections between the rival ranchers is well played out and where the story ultimately goes still leaves plenty to look forward to in the future. This one is a prime original and is streaming for free if you sign up (click the poster below).

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page