top of page

The House: Season 1 (2022)

My quick rating - 6.5/10. Some horror top ten list in 2022 had this on it, and I have a playlist of those I hadn't seen, which I forgot about. Just more stuff to watch. While this was unique and quite entertaining, horror is about the only genre this animated show DOESN'T fall into. Across different eras, a poor family, an anxious developer, and a fed-up landlady become tied to the same mysterious house in this animated dark comedy. I actually watched this not even knowing it was a TV show until the shift, but watching it as a flick or program really doesn't detract from the overall experience. It was just a very interesting story and original approach to telling it. The cast used in each episode varies and there are some great names on it including Helena Bonham Carter and Mia Goth to name a couple I picked up on right away. The animation is absolutely top notch and I am sure there were some awards handed out for that. I would check the IMDB listing to properly appreciate all the names that worked on this one. I hope they can continue this at some point since it was a very fresh tale about a singular house and themes of our own mortality being reflected by capitalism.

This is one you can only find on Netflix.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page