top of page

The Walking Dead: World Beyond (2020)

My quick rating - 4.0/10. Quick background. I didn't watch The Walking Dead when it aired so while I was in Sydney, I started the show to catch up on all 11 seasons. When I was almost done with 9, I figured I would look at the chronological order of all their shows and this one fit in between seasons 10 and 11 so I thought I may as well. (For some reason I didn't get into Fear the Walking Dead so I didn't include that.) That being said, I watched the first 3 episodes of season 1 and it was melodramatic teen garbage. Instead of blowing this off completely, I checked as to why it fits into the whole universe, and Anne (the leader of the junkyard colony from TWD) was in the last 5 episodes of season 2, so I did watch all of season 2. I'll leave out my bias of season 1 if possible. The whole idea is to focus on the first generation to grow up during the zombie apocalypse. I did see enough to know that the whiny kids were determined to see what life was like outside the community walls they were raised in and head out. Apparently, the group was all split up since that is how things are in season 2. Good news for me is the only characters I gave a crap about, Hope (Alexa Mansour) and Silas (Hal Cumpston) were still around fighting zombies. And yes, there is much more undead action in the second season from what I could tell. It also seemed to have a direction in the story which it sure didn't establish in 3 episodes previously. There is quite a bit of military-type leadership going on as I assume would really happen in the case of the zombie apocalypse. Granted I don't think they would suddenly act authoritative but dress down to street clothes as they do here. At no point did I find their ranks and command believable in the slightest. The second season was still quite the drama with the sisters reuniting along with their buddies all finding their way to each other while fighting against the evil Civic Republic Military. This is where Anne or Jadis who is quite the stand-out played by Pollyanna McIntosh comes back into play. However the whole show is done with absolutely no wrap up of any of their storylines, not that I care. Anne's role wasn't all that pivotal and again, she is left completely open-ended on what she is going to do. The rest of the stories may be getting resolved in future series or even season 11 of TWD since I am not done with that. It stands to reason I am not the only one who thought this show was below average especially compared to the original series. It got canned in with plenty of things going on so you can tell it was due to shitty ratings. I would say don't bother with this show at all unless you just have to see it all in the proper order. As usual, some episodes are more impactful than others so the rating is flat but I will mention it would be a lot lower had I considered season 1. Even though this falls in between seasons of TWD it didn't have a compelling thing to do with it as far as the big picture. Here is a complete rundown of the show if you need it. Check back at some point for my review of TWD complete.

If for some reason you still would like to watch, these streamers have it.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scan/Click and use code 2024504LIFE to get Torguard VPN @50% off ALL packages for LIFE!  

50OFF4LIFE.png
Full Moon (1).png
follow me:
  • Discord
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram
  • linktree
TorGuard-icon-white-bg.png
PayPal ButtonPayPal Button

I may make commisions from any purchases/memberships initiated from my site. Please read full disclosure

© 2013 by Jackmeat. all rights reserved.

bottom of page